St Martin’s, Scamblesby with Cawkwell
The village has a lovely church that sits on the edge of farmland with wonderful views across the Wolds.
It is one of the Churches in the Asterby Group of Parishes.
The Chancel was completely re-built in 1890, and in 1893 the nave was rebuilt at a cost of £800. The church, like many other local churches is built of green limestone.
One of the pillars from the old church was used to re-build the nave at St.Martin’s. This pillar is early Norman and came from the Church of St.Peter at Cawkwell.
To the left of Cawkwell Hill there was a hamlet called Cawkwell, now a deserted medieval village. It was first mentioned in 1354. St.Peter’s Church was known to be still standing in 1872, but had disappeared by 1924.
The pew ends at St. Martin’s are also believed to have come from Cawkwell, but they are thought to be very old indeed. They depict images of the ‘Green Man’ and each pew end is slightly different. The front pew has carved Seraphs.
The font at St.Martin’s is also most unusual; this also came from Cawkwell and has a massive and unusual bowl, round at the top and eight-sided below.
The first record in the Scamblesby register is from the year 1569.
The church has the title ‘Prebend’; this among other things means that a Canonical Stall in Lincoln Cathedral is named after the Parish.
The church is locked for security purposes but visitors can collect a key from:
Mrs. Judy Wright (Churchwarden)
Lark Cottage, Mill Lane, Scamblesby (01507) 343919
Mr. Peter Myers (Churchwarden)
Scamblesby House, Scamblesby
Mrs. M. Smith
The Old Forge, Old Main Road, Scamblesby
Please note that no registers are kept at this Church. Anyone wishing to
view the registers for St. Martin’s should contact:
St. Mary’s Church Office. Tel: (01507) 525600
The oldest records are held by the Lincolnshire County Archives at Lincoln.